TC Teaches: How to cancel a subscription on the Android Play Store

If you’ve been following us for a while, then you probably already know that in addition to keeping you informed, we’re always trying to add more knowledge to your daily life, with tips and tutorials so you can get the most out of your devices and apps.

Today, following this routine, we present one more tip; this time, for Android users! Learn below how to cancel a subscription made by the main application store of Google’s system, the Play Store.



TC Teaches: How to check sa





Curiosity
04 Ago




TC Teaches: how to discover the version





Curiosity
03 Ago


How to cancel a subscription on the Play Store

Contrary to what we have seen for some time, it is not uncommon to find apps on the Play Store with monthly subscription plans; and we’re not just talking about streaming services like Spotify, Netflix, etc., but also about service and utility apps that, in the same way, are using this model as an escape to maintain their continuous development.

But with the huge amount of apps available on the Android store, it’s not unusual to see users with many subscriptions, carrying their monthly credit card bill – sometimes even paying for apps they don’t even use anymore.

If you are one of those, or just want to delete a single app from your bill, check out the following categories on how to cancel a subscription on the Play Store.

How to cancel a subscription on the Play Store by smartphone or tablet

  • With your Android device in hand, open the Play Store;
  • Now, tap on your profile picture located at the top of the screen;
  • In the new menu, tap “Payments and Subscriptions”.

  • With the new menu open, tap “subscriptions”;
  • Now, look for the subscription you want to cancel and tap on it;
  • To unsubscribe, tap the “cancel subscription” and follow the on-screen instructions.

There, you learned how to cancel a subscription on the Play Store! As you can see, on the same cancellation screen, you can also change the payment method, the frequency and restart or reactivate a subscription – these last two options may not be available for all apps.

By default, subscriptions automatically renew every month and just deleting the app from your devices is not the same as canceling the service. That is, if you delete the app from your cell phone, but do not cancel the subscription through the Play Store, the subscription amount will continue to be charged monthly to your credit card.

If you end the subscription before the end of the paid period, you will still have access to the subscription services until the end of the period. That is, if you subscribed to the service for a month, but canceled before the end of that time, you will have normal access to the app until the end of the total 30 days.

How to cancel a Play Store subscription via browser (desktop/iOS)

If you no longer have access to an Android device, you can also unsubscribe via a web browser.


  • On the new screen, click on the “subscriptions”;
  • Now, search for the subscription you want to cancel and click on “To manage”.

  • In the new menu, tap “cancel subscription” and follow the on-screen instructions.

There, you learned how to cancel a subscription on the Play Store! As you can see, on the same cancellation screen, you can also change the payment method, the frequency and restart or reactivate a subscription – these last two options may not be available for all apps.

By default, subscriptions automatically renew every month and just deleting the app from your devices is not the same as canceling the service. That is, if you delete the app from your cell phone, but do not cancel the subscription through the Play Store, the subscription amount will continue to be charged monthly to your credit card.

If you end the subscription before the end of the paid period, you will still have access to the subscription services until the end of the period. That is, if you subscribed to the service for a month, but canceled before the end of that time, you will have normal access to the app until the end of the total 30 days.

Leave a Comment